Public Relations Major

            I am taking this course, Introduction to Public Relations, because I plan on majoring in this field. It has been a long time dream of mine to work with people to help promote items and companies. I am on the fence as to what I want to do exactly once I receive my degree. I would love to do event planning or work for a major firm somewhere in the Atlanta area or Charleston area. I would also like working for the St. Jude’s Children’s Hospital or something of that nature. I am not too picky. With the way the economy is going the old saying, “Beggars can’t be choosers,” really applies during these rough economic times. Whatever job I am offered I will take with a smile on my face and do my very best to achieve the goals the company has set for me as well as the goals I have set for myself.

            . By taking this class I have learned a lot of valuable information about public relations and how to put myself out there. I must admit that I was fairly hesitant to join some of the social networks at first, but now I am really enjoying them. I have joined wordpress, Twitter, and PR Open mic. I did not think I would like Twitter but it is a great site that allows me to learn more about what is going on in the PR world along with letting me “follow” some of my favorite celebs. I have not done too much with the PR Open Mic site yet, but plan to look into as soon as I get some spare time. Obviously I have been using WordPress which I was also hesitant to use because I am not a fan of everyone being able to view my work. Whatever the case, I understand that being involved in different social networks and putting myself out there in a professional way will benefit me in the long run.

Leave a comment

Filed under Personal, PR Connections

Leave a Reply

