Kids Really Do Say the Funniest Things!

In my Gender Communication class we have been discussing relationships and marriage. My professor Dr. Beverly Graham passed out a sheet of statements that young children made about the topic of marriage. I think we sometimes forget how innocent children are but how insightful and wise they can be at times. These are just a few of the quotes that were passed out in class that I am sure you will enjoy.

 

When is it ok to kiss someone?

 “When they are rich.” Pam, age 7

“The law says you have to be eighteen, so I wouldn’t want to mess with that.” Curt, age 7

“The rule goes like this: if you kiss someone, then you should marry them and have kids with them. It’s the right thing to do.” Howard, age 8

 

Is it better to be single or married?

 “I don’t know which is better, but I’ll tell you one thing: I’m never going to have sex. I don’t want to be all grossed out.” Theodore, age 8

 

How would the world be different if people didn’t get married?

“There should would be a lot of kids to explain, wouldn’t there?” Kevin, age 8.

“you can be sure of one thing- the boys would come chasing after us the same as they do now.” Roberta, age 7

 

How would you make a marriage work?

“If you want to last with your man, you should wear a lot of sexy clothes, especially underwear that is red and maybe has a few diamonds on it.” Lori, age 8

 “Tell your wife that she looks pretty even if she looks like a truck.” Ricky, age 10

 

What do you think your mom and dad have in common?

“Both don’t want no more kids.” Lori, age 8

 

What would you do on a first date that was turning sour?

“I’d run home and play dead. The next day I would call all the newspapers and make sure they wrote about me in all the dead columns.” – no name

Leave a comment

Filed under Personal

Leave a Reply

